Sunday, June 6, 2010

3 Idiots sweeps IIFA Awards

Best Actor: Amitabh Bachchan (Paa)

Best Actress: Vidya Balan (Paa) and Kareena Kapoor (3 Idiots)

Indian International Film Academy (IIFA) awards were presented at a glitzy ceremony in the Sri Lankan capital and was attended by Bollywood heros like Hrithik Roshan, Salman Khan, Vivek Oberoi etc and Bollywood beauties like Bipasha Basu, Lara Dutta, Dia Mirza etc.

Amir Khan’s ‘3 Idiots’ bagged eight awards including the Best Film on this years IIFA. Big B won the Best Actor award for his performance as progeria-affected child in Paa.
Kareena Kapoor and Vidya Balan shared the Best Actress award for their roles in 3 Idiot and Paa respectively. The Best Director Award winner was Rajkumar Hirani for 3 Idiots and he along with Abhijat Joshi and Vidhu Vinod Chopra won the Best Story Award for the same film.

3 Idiot on the backdrop of a top engineering college was nominated in 12 of the 13 main categories in the Indian International Film Academy awards and has already won eight of the 12 technical awards announced last month (Best Screenplay, Cinematography, Dialogue, Background Score, Editing, Best Sound Recording, Best Song Recording, Sound Re-recording).

The Best Male Supporting Actor award went to Sharman Joshi for his role in 3 Idiots and the Best Female Supporting Actress award was received by Divya Dutta for her role in Dilli 6.
Bomman Irani won the award for his negative role in 3 Idiots. The best performance in comedy role went to Sanjay Dutt for his role in All The Best.
Pritam is the Best Music Director for the film Love Aaj Kal. Shaan is the Best Male Singer for his song Behti hawa sat ha woh in 3 Idiots and Kavita Seth was adjudged as the Best Female Singer for Iktara in Wake Up, Sid!
Best Lyricist is Swanand Kirkire for the film 3 Idiots.

Best Debut Female Actor Award was shared by Sri Lankan beauty Jacqueline Fernandez and Mahie Gill for their performance in Aladin and Dev D respectively. Omi Vaidya shared the Debut Male honours for his role as Chatur Ramalingam of 3 Idiots with Jackky Bhagnani for Kal Kissne Dekha.

Bosco Caesar won the Best Choreography Award for his best moves in Love Aaj Kal and Anahia Shroof and Dolly Ahluwalia won the Best Costume Designing Award for the same film.
Sabu Cyril got the Best Art Direction and Charles Darby (Eyecube Labs) won Best Special Effects (Visual) for Aladin. Sham Kaushal won the Best Action Award for Kaminy and international make-up artists Christien Tinsely and Dominie Till fetched the award for Paa.
Legendary filmmaker J Om Prakash and former heroine of Bollywood Zeenat Aman were felicitated with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

No comments: