Saturday, January 23, 2010

National Film Awards 2008 Announced

Anthaheen (Bengali) directed by Anirudha Roy Chowdhury won the Best feature film award and will receive the Swarna Kamal and a cash price of Rs 250,000. South Indian director Bala won the Best Director award for the film Naan Kadavul (Tamil). 

Naan Kadavul
Upendra Limaye bagged the Best actor award for his performance in Jogva (Marathi) directed by Rajiv Patil. Priyanka Chopra fetched the Best actress award for the film Fashion (Hindi).


Avit Mukhopadhyay bagged the Best Cinematography award for Anthaheen and the film also won the best lyrics award. Kangana Reanult and Arjun Rampal won the Best supporting actress and supporting actor award for Fashion and Rock On respectively. Nandita Das’s maiden directorial venture Firaaq based on the 2002 Gujarat riots won the best editing (Sreekhar Prasad) and art direction (Gautam Sen) awards.

Hariharan won the Best male playback singer award for Jogva (Marathi) and Shreya Goshal is the best female playback singer for the songs in Anthaheen and Jogva. Jogva also won the award for Best film on social issues category and Music composers Ajay and Atul won the best music direction awards for their songs in the film.
The Best popular film is Oye Lucky! Lucky Oye! (Hindi) directed by Dibakar Banerjee. Sooni Taraporewallah’s Little Zizou (English, Gujarathi) is the best film on family values and Kannada film Gubbachigalu was adjudged as the best children’s film.

Shreya Goshal 
Shams Patel won the Best Child actor award for the film Thanks Maa (Hindi). Mumbai Meri Jaan won the award for Best Special effects.
Marathi film Gandha bagged the best screenplay and best audiography award for Sachin Kundalkar and Pramod J Thomas respectively.

Priyanka Chopra
National Film Development Corporations (NFDC) Bioscope (Malayalam) directed by K Madhusoodhan won the Special Jury award. Thirakkadha directed by Renjith is the winner of Best Malayalam film, Mon Jei (Assamese), Shob Charitro Kalponik (Bengali), Vimukthi (Kannada), Harishchadrachi Factory (Marathi), Vaaranam Aayiram (Tamil) and 1940 Lookagramam (Telugu) are the winners of best feature films in regional languages. Neeraj Pande bagged the debutante director award for A Wednesday.

Yash Raj films Road Side Romeo bagged the best Animation film and Little Zizou is the best film on family values.
Unlike previous years the Malayalam films and technicians has not won major awards in the main category of 56th National Awards. Malayalam films bagged good number of awards in previous years National Awards like the best director, editor, music director etc. The jury of the feature film was headed by National Award winning Malayalam director Shaji N Karun.

Prathibha Patil, the President of India will distribute the awards to the winners on March.

No comments: